top of page
Writer's pictureacuppawords

The Highs and Lows of my First Month in Scotland

Updated: Jul 28, 2020



I cannot believe I have been in Scotland for a month already! The days have ephemerally past and it has been a long time since I have written a blog post, but for good reason as you will read about in the lows part of this post. Since there is so much I want to share about my experiences in Scotland thus far, I have decided to break it up into the highs and lows of my first month. Let’s begin with the lows and save the highs as a kind of reading dessert.


Lows:


Culture Shock: How life works in Scotland is so different from America! Just going school supplies shopping says it all. I recently bought a notebook and binder. Turns out, the notebook has four-hole punches in the page and the binder has two rings in it! I brought one notebook from home and the pages from that book cannot fit into the two-ring binder I bought here. Also, the standard printer paper is longer here. When I went to put papers I printed from the library into my American folder, it was about an inch too long. Going out to eat is also very different than at home. I have a new experience every time I go to a different restaurant or café because I never know if I should order at the counter or if I pay at the table. I have also learned that it is common to ask for the check rather than be given it to you. Tipping is also not commonly practiced and is usually done when you get fantastic service. Another fact of Scottish life that hit me hard is the lack of cream for coffee. At almost every café or restaurant, milk is used for coffee. Even in the grocery store, they sell a five-ounce cup of single cream that expires in three days. Honestly, I am beginning to miss the smooth delicious Half and Half I am used to in America.


Different Teaching Methods: The education system is radically different in Scotland compared to my home university. I am used to having weekly assignments and a few exams a semester that all count towards my final grade. In Scotland, your final grade is based on two, maybe three, essays (one being the final exam essay). Your entire grade is based on just two assignments! And the grading system is very different as well. If I understand it correctly, an A here (70-100% which is very rare) is an A in America. A grade of a B (65-69% and 60-64%) is an A- and a B+ at home. A grade of a C (55-59% and 50-54%) here is a B and B- in America. Lastly a D (40-49%) is a C at home. This grading system means that if I score a 65% on an essay I am actually doing pretty well though it goes against every fiber of my being to have a 65% since I am used to equating that with a failing score. To sum up the teaching style in Scotland, it is a lot of independent reading and analyzing before coming together in class a couple times a week to either discuss the material or lecture on it.


The Wind: One day last week when I left for class, I could barely walk a few steps down the street without being pushed back by the unbelievable strong wind. It was absolutely insane! I have never experienced wind so strong that it would almost knock me off my feet. I am told that the weather is not usually like that and it was just a storm that hit us for the day (but for a storm it was normal!).


Getting Sick (also the reason why I have not written sooner): On campus, there is an unfortunate sickness called the “Freshers Flu” that circles the student body every year after Freshers Week and I happened to be part of the unlucky but large group of people who happened to fall ill with it. It is no surprise why so many people get sick during the first couple weeks! Thousands of people from all over the world coming together in the same vicinity of each other is bound to create some illness. Even now as I write this, I am still a little sick. It has been nine days and I am not fully better yet. It was absolutely awful, and the worst part was that I was totally alone. Even when I got sick at school before, my roommate and friends helped to take care of me. I have never been solely responsible for getting myself better. . . and it sucked! I cannot remember the last time I felt so sick. And to top it all off, I had to miss most of my classes. On the bright side, I did get a small glimpse into Scotland’s healthcare system. I had to go to the doctors three times before they would give me medicine to help my throat . . . but it was free! For one of my appointments I felt so ill that I could not go alone. A friend of mine was kind enough to accompany me to it. Another friend dropped off ginger ale and soup for me. I am so happy I made such great friends! Now that this unfortunate experience is almost at its end, I will always keep in my cabinet ginger ale, crackers, and cough drops.


The Highs (I like to save the best for last)


Great food: I am surrounded by tons and tons of cafes, bars and restaurants of every cuisine imaginable. I have already scouted out a great place to get Thai food, my favorite cafés to eat at and an affordable restaurant to get Scottish porridge (delicious!). I am still exploring so I know I will find some more delectable gems.



Unique and challenging course material: I am lucky enough to be able to study literature at one of the best schools in the world for my program. My classes involve looking at the history of the time period each text is set in as well as analyzing different editions of the text to see where and why changes have been made. I am studying Celtic literature hundreds of years old that was written in the same country I am studying it in! I am only a couple weeks into the course material, but I am excited for what the semester will hold!


A beautiful campus: As soon as I walk out my door I am struck with the beautiful history that is evident in every stretch of cobblestone street and every weathered stone building. The student union building looks like a castle. The library is a dream come true with every book you could every want to check out. The classrooms are modern but comfortable. Actually, one classroom I was in had a breathtaking panoramic view of Arthur’s seat. As I walk down a street and get a glimpse of the castle or Princes Street gardens, I think just how lucky I am to be here.



Trips Planned: Many of the amazing friends I have met are studying abroad also but for just the semester, so they are planning tons and tons of trips and I jumping on board for some of them. I have made plans to see Belgium and Switzerland so far. I do not want to book a trip every weekend of the semester because I want to enjoy Scotland too. I do not want to start seeing every country I possible can without exploring Scotland as much as I can. There is so much to see here, and I feel like I have only gotten a glimpse of it.


Shopping: Though there is a significant conversion from pounds to dollars, it seems like everything is cheaper here! Grocery shopping is much less expensive than at home. The thrift shops are probably priced the same but there are tons of them here! The prices of books at some used bookshops are a steal! And of course, I cannot forget to mention Poundsavers. It is almost the equivalent of an American Dollar Store, but everything is not a pound and it has better quality items. You can find just about everything at Poundsavers. They have kitchen supplies, bathroom items, school supplies, stamps, lightbulbs and other electronics. They also sell little Scottish knickknacks, rugs and lamps! It is a dangerous store to be in for too long!


Even though a month has past, I feel as if I only just got here. There is so much to do and see but I have all year!


I will write more very soon.


Wishing you warm drinks and new adventures,

Maria


PS: I am also writing for my Scottish University's study abroad blog. Here is the link to my first post with them!

https://usinedinb.wordpress.com/2018/09/16/surviving-freshers-tips-i-wish-someone-had-told-me/


PPS: Did you know today is the 150th anniversary of the publication of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women? One of my favorites!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page