top of page
Writer's pictureacuppawords

Boston Highlights

Updated: Aug 13, 2020



My friend and I recently drove the 5ish hours from PA to Boston to visit our friend who studies in the city. I have always wanted to see Boston and I am so glad that I finally got to take the trip! Boston was definitely smaller than I expected but I loved it all the same. Unfortunately due to class schedules we could only stay for a couple days but we managed to pack a lot in during that time. The following are some of my favorite parts of the city I visited which I recommend seeing yourself if you ever visit Boston.


Acorn Street

Acorn Street reminded me a lot of Elfreth’s Alley in Philly. Both are very well preserved, historic, and extremely picturesque. Acorn Street, located in the very old and expensive Beacon Hill neighborhood, is the most photographed street in Boston. The street was built in 1823 and its pathway laid with large, rounded cobblestones has been left relatively untouched. The cobblestones are so large and uneven that you have to walk on the side paths laid with newer brick to walk up it. When my friends and I visited this spot, there were a few other groups taking pictures along the street too. We did get great photos but I felt a little bad for taking pictures right in front of someone’s home.

Public Garden/the Commons


The Public Garden and the Commons are right next to each other and are about a five-minute walk away from Acorn Street. We had sunny clear skies the day we visited which was perfect weather for walking through the gardens. In the Public Gardens, we took pictures with the “Make Way for Ducklings” statues. A lot of little kids were climbing on top of them, sitting on the ducks like they were horses! In another part of the garden, there were tons of people sitting in the fallen leaves of a tree taking artsy pictures. We saw one guy lying on his side posing for a picture. It was so funny to watch!


Eataly in the Pru

Luckily my friend made reservations ahead of time at La Pizza & La Pasta in Eataly in the Prudential building so we did not have to wait long for a table. There was a two-course meal deal going on so the restaurant was packed full of people. Before going into Eataly though we walked through the Prudential building, wandering into stores and testing perfumes. Once we got to Eataly, we walked around the market, passing underneath huge pieces of meat hanging from the ceiling and large wheels of cheese stacked on the side. At La Pizza & La Pasta, my meal of bruschetta and pizza was delicious and tasted very authentic, though I have never actually visited Italy myself.


Bookshops



There are so many bookstores in Boston, which makes sense since it is a major publishing hub. When my friends and I were in the Cambridge area, we went into every bookstore near Harvard, and there are A LOT. We also visited Trident Booksellers and Café for a morning brunch. We arrived there early enough so we did not have to wait for a table, but once we were finished and went to peruse the bookstore part of the shop we could barely walk around there was so many people waiting for a table and shopping. Brattle Book Shop near the Public Garden was much less crowded. Brattle is a used-bookstore and had an outdoor section of discounted books to look through in addition to three or four floors of books. I managed to find a cheap copy of The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch hidden away in a book cart outside which I took home with me.


Union Oyster House

On the first night of our trip to Boston, we visited the Union Oyster House for dinner. It is the oldest restaurant in America that has been continuously operating since its opening in 1826. When we arrived around 8pm it was very packed. We put our name in though and waited 40 or so minutes at the bar where we tried their delicious New England Clam Chowder and watched the bartender shuck fresh oysters. Once we got a table, we walked past the four-top booth that J.F.K sat at, which had a plaque handing to prove it. Though the entrees were fairly pricey, it was worth the cost since we each received a very large helping of seafood in our meals.


Mike’s Pastry



After filling our stomachs at the Union Oyster House, we walked to the nearby Mike’s Pastry to buy their legendary cannoli. Like the Oyster House, the pastry shop was filled with tourists and locals wanting a sweet treat. We did not have to wait long to order and we had our cannoli in hand very quickly, in a paper box tied with string. We took them back to my friend’s apartment to eat them. I am not usually a huge fan of cannoli but these were pretty good.


I was really lucky that my friend living in the city could show us around and take us to the best spots in Boston. I definitely did not see everything Boston has to offer so I will just have to visit again!


Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving,

Maria

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page