top of page
Writer's pictureacuppawords

The Best of Edinburgh's New Town

Updated: Jul 28, 2020

After being cramped up in my flat with the flu for over a week, I decided to spend this past weekend exploring Edinburgh’s New Town. I have taken buses through New Town before but never really paid attention to the area. I always thought New Town was industrial looking and ugly compared to the historic Old Town but then I actually walked through New Town and saw how wrong I was.

On Saturday, I walked from Old Town all the way to the Royal Botanic Garden to take part in Apple Day. On the way to the Garden I passed tons of cute little boutiques, cafes, and flower shops. I also admired the beautiful architecture of the residences in New Town. The buildings have seamless lines as they curve down the road with the curve of the streets. When I finally reached the Garden, I discovered it is actually in the middle of a gorgeous residential area (imagine having the Botanic Garden in your backyard!). It was Apple Day which meant an impressive display was out for the public to see the many species of apples cultivated. I never knew there was so many kinds of apples!

On a flyer for the event, the Garden explained the reasoning for Apple Day, “Apple growing in Scotland dates back to the 12th century. Abbeys and monasteries brought trees from the Continent and these gave rise to varieties unique in Scotland. During the 19th century commercial apple production was established in the Clyde Valley and the Carse of Gowrie. Today the orchards are nearly all gone but many of the historic varieties are alive and well and experiencing a revival of interest.”

There had to be over 80 different kinds of apples out on display. There were a select few we were allowed to taste. My favorites were the crunchier varieties like the Scotch Bridget, Ribston Pippin, Norfolk Royal Russet, and the Cambusnethan Pippin. There were a few that was a soft as a pear and a couple that were very sour. I got to fill a bag of apples (for a suggested donation of two pounds) of all different species. Some of the apples I selected were as small as a golf ball! I made a delicious apple crisp with them though.

After enjoying the Apple Day events, I walked around the Garden and marveled at the many flowers and trees cultivated. As I admired the changing colors of the trees and stepped on the fallen leaves as I walked, I finally got the Fall that I felt I had been missing (it also did not hurt that we had perfect crisp Autumn weather). The Garden is fairly large, so I spent a couple hours exploring. There was actually a wedding being hosted so I spotted some kilts as well. I lugged my apples back to Old Town admiring again the beauty of New Town from a different perspective.


After getting a good night’s rest from all the walking, I spent my Sunday exploring Dean’s Village. Just a short bus ride away, the most photographed part of Dean Village is like a little oasis in the middle of these Amsterdam looking residences (I have not been to Amsterdam, but the houses are exactly what I picture the city to look like). The weather held out in the morning for good picture taking but by the afternoon it was cold and rainy.

After exploring the rest of Dean Village as well as the Leith Walk, which included a wonderful little waterfall, my friends and I set out for Stockbridge Market. After getting lost three or four times, we finally found it. Stockbridge is made up of a strip of cafes and charity shops as well as an outdoor market open on the weekends. The market was very tempting as there were so many delicious smells coming from all directions; it was hard to show restraint. I did get a bag of candied nuts which were delicious.

I also went into the Stockbridge Kitchen pastry shop since their window display looked unbelievable. They had a cake with four layers in it! The inside of the shop was small and cramped but we got a table near the door. Because we kept getting hit by the breeze from outside, the owner of the café gave my friends and I a free fig pie to eat. It was a very welcoming and charming café that I suggest checking out if you are ever in Stockbridge! As for Dean's Village, it is worth going to just for the pictures. Though there is not a lot to see, the pictures in the little oasis make it worth it.


Wishing you warm drinks and new adventures,

Maria

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page