top of page
Writer's pictureacuppawords

Back in America

Updated: Jul 28, 2020


My last view of Edinburgh (at the airport).

A Cuppa Words is back on American soil! I have now been home in America for almost two weeks. I have not written a blog post in over a month time since my last weeks in Edinburgh were filled with revision for exams and packing up my flat to return home. I have spent my time home so far decluttering my room, starting work and settling back into my life in America. I actually was looking forward decluttering and used the Kon Mari method on my room. Since I was gone for so long with a limited wardrobe, it was like going shopping in my own closet.


I have been procrastinating on writing this post for a few days now. My family and friends have asked me what it is like being back at home. It feels as if I am in a dream. It is only starting to sink in that I am not returning to Edinburgh in the coming weeks. This dream of being home is slowing shifting into reality, which is both good and bad: good because nothing beats being home (home is home) but bad since I loved Edinburgh so much. I anticipate in a few weeks that the W curve will hit me hard, as I am only starting to feel light touches of this transition.


The past nine or so months, I have focused this blog on my experiences abroad. Now that my study abroad experience is at an end, I do not want this to be the end of my blog. In the new few months, I hope to shift the focus of my posts to content that is relevant to my life at home, such as finishing my degree and traveling within the United States. I find it silly that I traveled to ten or so countries in Western Europe but have only seen a few states in America. I still plan on writing about study abroad, since this past year was such a momentous adventure in my life. I feel incredibly fortunate to have spent an entire academic year in Scotland and I want to emphasize my gratitude to the people who have supported me this past year: the St. Andrew’s Society of Philadelphia, which funded my year at the University of Edinburgh, my amazing friends and family, and of course the readers that have journeyed this year with me through my posts. I am excited to expand A Cuppa Words, writing about where the future takes me!


Wishing you future trips to Scotland,

Maria

27 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario


Rosemarie Marabito Rice
Rosemarie Marabito Rice
31 may 2019

I’m so happy your time away was so wonderful for you. Life changing I’m sure. As you journey through life you will have so many more life changing events that will change and mold you into who you are to be. I enjoyed reading about your adventures!!! See you soon!!

Me gusta
bottom of page