top of page
Writer's pictureacuppawords

A Taste of Britain

Updated: Jul 28, 2020


About eight months ago, my mother, sister and I were driving over to our favorite tea shop, A Taste of Britain, when I read an email on my phone inviting me to apply for a scholarship to study abroad in Scotland for a year. I kept silent in the back of the car allowing the news of this opportunity to fully sink in. I felt so much excitement and anxiousness filling up inside me that I was ready to burst, but I waited till we were seated inside the shop to share the news with my family.


Only half way through my first semester of college, I had already investigated different ways I could possibly study abroad in Scotland. When I read the email that so casually popped up in my inbox like it did not contain life changing information, I felt this chance was meant to be. My mom felt the same way. She bursted into tears at our table in A Taste of Britain when I handed my phone over to let her read for herself about this incredible opportunity. She knew wholeheartedly at that moment that I would get the scholarship. And now I am less than five weeks away from flying over to Scotland to begin my year abroad!


Today we visited the shop for a last family tea outing, knowing that we had to return to A Taste of Britain before I left to go full circle with this incredible next page of my story. Every time we go to tea, I fall in love with the shop all over again. The interior is even more charming than the exterior. When you walk in, you are immediately surrounded with every British goodie and tea essential you could think of. A Taste of Britain has a main space for small parties as well as a back room for large party reservations. Decorating both rooms are tea plates, pots and other tea related British items to jazz up the space. The result of such décor makes you feel like you stepped into a shop in England. Each table is set with different tea cups, all equally beautiful.






If you do not want to visit the shop just to look at the décor, go then to have a bite from their delicious menu! Not only do they have a very large assortment of loose teas, but they also have a great selection of salads, sandwiches, and of course scones and pastries to choose from (gluten free options are available). I ordered a favorite of mine: their warm croissant sandwich with turkey and a cranberry spread. The sandwich came with a small cup of cucumber and feta salad as well as a helping of crisps : ). I also ordered a warm chocolate chip scone with clotted cream and strawberry preserves which tasted heavenly! The scone toppings come in tiny glass jars just wide enough for a knife to pop in. Lemon curd is also available. For my choice of tea, I felt the Scottish Highlands was the most fitting choice for the occasion. Each person gets their own personal pot of tea that you can have refilled with hot water to last you hours! A couple of the tea choices worth noting is a Prince George tea and a Princess Charlotte tea. They have not yet gotten around to creating a Prince Louis tea, but I am sure they will create a great one very soon!




One of the main reasons my family and I continue to go to A Taste of Britain, besides their delicious menu, is the experience that is offered by the staff. We have been returning to this shop for a few years now and every time we go, the people of A Taste of Britain make us feel so at home and welcome. Because of them, going to tea has become a tradition for my mother, sister and I look forward too. We have taken friends of ours as well as our extended family and everyone has raved about the shop. I hope A Taste of Britain stays open for many years to come so that we can continue our tradition.


I urge you to visit this charming little tea shop if you get the chance!


Wishing you warm drinks and new adventures,

Maria



108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page