top of page
Writer's pictureacuppawords

10 Things I Did to Prepare for Study Abroad

Updated: Jul 28, 2020



Choosing to study abroad is incredibly exciting and adventurous but it is also very stressful and nerve racking. Preparing for an entire year in a foreign country is not easy but it is very easy to forget to do something very important. I wanted to share ten things I have done in preparation for studying abroad that people may otherwise forget to do.


1. Pack, then repack, then repack again. . .

It seems like I have spent the entire summer "practice packing". I started off with the plan to fit everything I will need for a year into two suitcases and a box; then it became one suitcase and a box; then three suitcases. Now I am ready to leave with just two suitcases! For a someone who in the past has been called a hoarder and over-packer, this is a big accomplishment. I have experimented with different packing methods including packing cubes, folding and rolling. I quickly realized that packing cubes are not for me since the cubes do not give much leeway for squishing and filling every nook and cranny of the actual suitcase. The magic packing secret I have come to realize is not to roll everything. I found that a mix of rolling and folding fits all my clothes most compactly into my suitcase. I recommend folding bulky items like sweaters but for thin and light clothing, rolling is best. A great suitcase is also essential! My first trip abroad, I used a split compartment hard case and hated it. I fit so much less stuff in a split case than I do a top loading suitcase. I recently found the perfect suitcase at TJ Maxx which combines the best protection of a hard case with the functionality of a top loading soft case. Now the next time I go to pack, it will not be for practice!

2. Shopping

In all honesty, I spent more money than I care to admit on preparing for a year abroad. Scotland’s weather ranges from a moderately warm temperature to the frigid cold with rain and snow in between. I wanted to make sure I would look stylish but also not freeze my butt off. I have also anticipated occasions where my normal blue jeans and sweater look will not cut it. I have tried to pack a wardrobe that covers all bases including casual, business casual, nightlife, formal and sporty functional. I had to make sure I was adequately prepared for academic life as well since I am going to Scotland to study after all. The following items are some items I have purchased specifically for the multifaceted needs of this study abroad student:

3. Waterproofing:



I highly suggest waterproofing your items regardless of whether you are traveling to Europe or the next state over. I have been waterproofing my shoes for years now and I have expanded this added protection to some travel items for my year abroad. The extra layer of protection that a waterproof spray adds is perfect for protecting shoes as well as backpacks, purses and fabric suitcases. I recommend the Kiwi Protect All spray that you can usually find at your closest drug store. Two sprays can do wonders (spray outside then it let dry inside over night). 

4. Haircut

A haircut is one thing I dread as much as going to the dentist. I have cried after every single hair cut I have gotten since I was eight years old. I may sound ridiculous but seeing yourself suddenly look different can be a real shock (not to mention thick curly hair like mine always has a mind of its own). I have pushed off getting a haircut all summer, but it is now time to bite the bullet and get it done. I most likely will not get it cut again for a year so it really is necessary. By the time you read this, my hair will be five inches shorter and I will have (hopefully) stopped crying.

5. Health

Nothing is more important than your health which is why making sure you are all set medically is vital for preparing to leave for another country. I have gone for a well visit with my doctor, printed copies of my medical record, made an appointment with the dentist (also something I have procrastinated on), planned for international health insurance, stocked up on needed medication and vitamins (Zyrtec included since it is an American brand), and have gotten all the required vaccinations. Knowing myself and how I probably will forget about getting a flu shot while abroad, I went to my nearest Rite Aid and received this year’s flu vaccination (it took less than 15 minutes and I got a 30% coupon to be used on any Rite Aid purchase!). I have also packed exercise bands in my suitcase, so I can keep up as best I can with my exercise routine (the bands are so light and portable!).

6. Keep an eye on European news

Moving to a foreign country for a year is scary enough but being an informed as possible about foreign events helps to ease the mind a little. I have tried to keep an eye on European news channels, so I am not totally ignorant about the environment I am going into. I have also been checking daily the conversion rates from pounds sterling to the American dollar. In the past couple weeks, the pound’s value has been decreasing because of Brexit. When it hit the lowest I have seen in months ($1.27; when I began checking, it was at $1.32) I decided to go to the bank and order some pounds so that I am set for the first few weeks upon my arrival in Scotland.

7. Read

Scotland is known has a main source of great literature which makes it the perfect location to study as an English major. To prepare for a year in one of the most literary cities in the world, I have been trying to read some of the most famous books written by Scottish authors, written in Scotland or written about Scotland. I have gotten through The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, The Harry Potter Series, 44 Scotland Street, Knots and Crosses and How the Scots Invented the Modern World. I attempted to read Outlander but could not get past the second chapter. I know so many people love the book and tv series, but I was not a fan. I thought the voice of the Claire sounded too modern for the post WW2 setting. Maybe the tv series is better!

8. Confirm with home university

Though I am going away to Scotland, I still have to come back and finish my degree which is why I made it a point to prepare for the year I return. I have planned out what courses I will probably take and have made sure all the international courses I am taking will transfer to my home university. This planning ahead should make coming back much easier.

9. List time

Lists are an amazing creation and should be used in excess. With the help of my family, I have made a list of people to contact, what to pack, what to buy, what to do during my first week in Scotland, places I want to try and visit, and even a list of blog post ideas. For any study abroad student, lists are your friend.

10. Start a blog!



As soon as I found out about the scholarship to study in Scotland for a year, I knew I wanted to start a blog if I was lucky enough to be chosen as the scholarship recipient . . . and now here I am! I have loved creating A Cuppa Words and I very much enjoy writing and sharing new blog posts. I am so excited to write many more in the coming year about my experiences in the United Kingdom!


Wishing you warm drinks and new adventures,

       Maria

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page